Lasagna Con Sabor

IMG_0706Everyone that knows me knows that I love to cook! It doesn’t matter if it’s appetizers, the entree, or the dessert- I love to cook it all! I just find cooking relaxing especially when I get in the zone. I have my go to recipes and this lasagna recipe is a staple in my book.

Ingredients for Lasagna Con Sabor
Ingredients for Lasagna Con Sabor

Ingredients:

9 pieces of lasagna
1 1/2 lbs of lean ground beef
16 oz. of tomato sauce
15 oz. of ricotta cheese
4 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup of chopped cilantro
1/2 cup of sun-dried tomatoes
1 egg
Lawry’s seasoning salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Farenheit. Put the pasta to cook in salted boiling water for 10 minutes.

Meat Sauce for Lasagna Con Sabor
Meat Sauce for Lasagna Con Sabor

While the pasta is cooking, go ahead and start browning the ground beef. Season the meat with the seasoning salt and pepper to taste. Once the meat is browned, go ahead and add your tomato sauce. I like to use the Prego brand, but you can use which ever brand is on sale!

Once the meat and pasta are done cooking, now you can start making the ricotta mixture. Mix in a bowl the ricotta, parmesan, egg, cilantro, and pepper.In any recipe that I try out, I am the queen of substituting ingredients that I am not a fan of with those that I do like. In this recipe, the original called for parsley- which I LOATHE- so I substituted it with cilantro (that’s the “Con Sabor” if you haven’t realized it  🙂 ).

Remember the steps: Pasta, Meat Sauce, Ricotta Mixture, Mozzarella, Sun-dried Tomatoes
Remember the steps: Pasta, Meat Sauce, Ricotta Mixture, Mozzarella, Sun-dried Tomatoes

Now comes the assembling! First put a spoonful of meat sauce in the glass casserole. Lay 3 pieces of the lasagna, followed by meat sauce, ricotta mixture, shredded mozzarella, and sun-dried tomatoes. Repeat these steps two more times. On the very top layer, sprinkle some extra parmesan cheese so it browns beautifully!

Cook the lasagna for 30 minutes until the cheese is melted. Let the lasagna cool for 15 minutes before serving. Don’t forget to post your comments below and let me know how you liked the recipe! Buen Provecho!

Leave a comment